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N2 Instructions for Form NC-5,
" Withholding Return

General Instructions

An employer must file and pay its withheld taxes based on the filing frequency assigned to them by the Department. The
employer must continue using the assigned filing frequency until the Department issues a Notice of Change in Filing Frequency
which includes the new filing frequency assigned to the employer. Generally, the new filing frequency is effective January 1
of the following calendar year.

Quarterly Filers - Employers who withhold an average of less than $250 from wages each month must file Form NC-5 and
pay the withheld taxes on a quarterly basis. All quarterly returns and payments are due by the last day of the month following
the end of the calendar quarter.

Monthly Filers - Employers who withhold an average of at least $250 but less than $2,000 from wages each month must file
Form NC-5 and pay the withheld taxes on a monthly basis. All monthly returns and payments, except those for December
are due by the 15th day of the month following the month in which the tax was withheld. The return and payment for the
month of December are due by January 31.

An employer can file Form NC-5 and pay the withheld taxes online via the Department’s Online Filing and Payment System.

Specific Instructions

Indicate the period covered by the return in the blocks provided. Enter the legal name, Account ID, and Federal Employer
Identification Number (FEIN) or Social Security Number (SSN). Use capital letters when entering legal name and address.

Line 1 - Enter amount of North Carolina income tax required to be withheld.

Line 2 - A penalty of 5% of the amount required to be withheld is imposed for failure either to withhold or to pay when due.
The penalty for failure to timely file a withholding return is 5% of the tax due per month (maximum 25%). In addition,
criminal penalties are provided for willful failure to comply with the withholding statutes.

Line 3 - If payment is late, enter the accrued interest. The interest rate is set semiannually by the Secretary of Revenue
and is published on the Department’s website at www.ncdor.gov.

Line 4 - Enter the total amount due and payable. (Add Lines 1, 2, and 3)

Please do not fold, staple, tape, or paper clip the return or payment.
Use blue or black ink to complete your return.

Make your check or money order payable in U.S. currency to N.C. Department of Revenue.
Cut return on line below and mail it with your payment to the address on the return.

Se ey e

Period Beginning (MM-DD-YY) Period Ending (MM-DD-YY) With hold i ng Retu rn This report must be returned even if
. tax has b ithheld.
North Carolina Department of Revenue no fax has been withne

Account ID FEIN or SSN )
1. Tax Withheld P> 00
-
USE CAPITAL LETTERS FOR YOUR NAME AND ADDRESS
2. Penalty 00
Legal Name (First 23 Characters) L
Street Address . Inter
3. Interest .00
City State Zip Code (5 Digit)
4. Total Due $ 00
(Add Lines 1, 2, and 3) -
Signature: Date: 3040106007
| certify that, to the best of my knowledge, this return is accurate and complete.
Title: Phone: () NC-5
10-04
MAIL TO: P.O. Box 25000, Raleigh, NC 27640-0615 Web






